Madigan schedules July 6 vote to override Rauner’s income tax veto

Madigan schedules July 6 vote to override Rauner’s income tax veto

The House will need 71 “yes” votes to override Gov. Bruce Rauner’s veto of a permanent 32 percent income tax hike. The July 2 vote to pass the tax hike received 72 yeas.

The Illinois House of Representatives will vote July 6 on whether to override Gov. Bruce Rauner’s veto of a permanent 32 percent income tax hike.

The House did not have a quorum July 5 to take up the vote, so House Speaker Mike Madigan scheduled the vote for the afternoon of July 6. The original vote on the income tax hike – which is part of Senate Bill 9, the revenue package of the first full-year budget the House passed in two years – passed 72-45, with 15 Republicans breaking ranks to vote with Democrats. The House will need at least 71 votes to override Rauner’s veto, in which case the tax hike would become law. The Senate, which passed the tax hike 36-18, already voted to override Rauner’s veto.

SB 9 hikes the personal income tax to 4.95 percent from 3.75 percent, and hikes the corporate tax to 7 percent from 5.25 percent. It is devoid of structural spending reforms to slow the cost of government, and lacks major pension reform, collective bargaining reform, comprehensive property tax reform, Medicaid reform and more. With an already-crushing tax burden, the hikes are not something taxpayers can afford. And Illinoisans already know past tax hikes haven’t helped bring down the state’s unpaid bills. During the 2011 temporary income tax hike, the state’s unpaid bill backlog only declined by $1.3 billion (to $6.6 billion from $7.9 billion), and pension debt rose by $25 billion.

Below is the roll-call vote for the original vote on SB 9. With 72 “yes” votes, at least two lawmakers who voted “yes” would need to change their votes to “no” to stop the income tax hike.

Democrats voting yes (57): Ammons, Andrade, Arroyo, Beiser, D. Burke, K. Burke, Cassidy, Chapa LaVia, Conroy, Conyears-Ervin, Crespo, Currie, D’Amico, Davis, DeLuca, Drury, Evans, Feigenholtz, Fine, Flowers, Ford, Gabel, Gordon-Booth, Greenwood, Guzzardi, Harper, G. Harris, Hernandez, Hoffman, Hurley, Jones, Kifowit, Lang, Lilly, Madigan, Mah, Martwick, C. Mitchell, Moeller, Nekritz, Phelps, Riley, Rita, Sente, Sims, Slaughter, Soto, Stratton, Tabares, Thapedi, Turner, Wallace, Walsh, Welch, Williams, Willis, Zalewski.

Republicans voting yes (15): Andersson, Bryant, Cavaletto, Davidsmeyer, Fortner, Hammond, D. Harris, Hays, Jimenez, Meier, B. Mitchell, Phillips, Pritchard, Reis, Unes.

Democrats voting no (10): Connor, Costello, Halpin, Manley, Mayfield, Moylan, Mussman, Scherer, Stuart, Yingling.

Republicans voting no (35): Batinick, Bellock, Bennett, Bourne, Brady, Breen, Butler, Cabello, Demmer, Durkin, Frese, Halbrook, Ives, Jesiel, Long, McAuliffe, McCombie, McDermed, McSweeney, Morrison, Olsen, Parkhurst, Reick, Sauer, Severin, Skillicorn, Sommer, Sosnowski, Spain, Stewart, Swanson, Wehrli, Welter, B. Wheeler, K. Wheeler.

Republicans not voting (1): Winger (excused absence)

Want more? Get stories like this delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you, we'll keep you informed!