Evidence from Connecticut suggests the progressive income tax could cost Illinois homeowners substantial equity in their homes.View Report
A vague and restrictive state law could mean the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services comes knocking if parents leave their 13-year-old home alone.
Illinois could give every undergraduate in public college nearly $70k a year if it spent the same 4% of its budget on pensions as it did throughout the 90s, rather than the 25% it spends today.
Illinois parents can face neglect charges for leaving a 13-year-old home alone. The Illinois House just took a step toward relaxing the nation’s strictest law on unattended children.
Illinois’ law mandating a minimum age for leaving children home alone is the most restrictive in the nation. That should change.
A Wilmette mother investigated for letting her daughter walk the dog is only the latest target of Illinois’ vague and overreaching child neglect laws.
Vague, arbitrary and overly protective rules, like we see often in Illinois, don’t do anyone any favors.
Illinois’ law mandating a minimum age for leaving children home alone is the strictest of its kind in the nation.
Illinois’ real-life “Home Alone” story inspired legislation that gives the state too much power to intrude into parents’ reasonable decisions about their children.
An inadequate-supervision case recently dropped by the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services reveals why the department must reform its policies regarding what constitutes child neglect.