53 representatives sign on to letter opposing progressive tax

53 representatives sign on to letter opposing progressive tax

Taxpayers across Illinois oppose a progressive tax but many state lawmakers still refuse to stand up against House Speaker Mike Madigan’s progressive tax push.

Illinois homeowners are burdened with crippling property taxes, one of the highest total tax burdens in the country and recently shouldered a record-breaking income tax increase. That’s apparently not enough, as some lawmakers in Springfield continue to push for a progressive income tax that would expose Illinois’ middle class to further tax hikes.

During the week of Aug. 23, every state representative in Illinois received a letter asking for their support in opposing the progressive tax – the same letter nearly 100 local officials received and signed in May.

Since then, 53 state representatives, including state Rep. Jerry Costello, D-Smithton, and the entire Republican caucus, with the exception of state Rep. David Harris, R-Arlington Heights, have renewed their opposition to a progressive tax.

However, despite the pressure from their local officials, the following members of the Illinois House of Representatives have refused to sign on to oppose the progressive tax. Illinoisans can contact their state representative and tell him or her to sign the pledge to oppose a progressive income tax and protect taxpayers by clicking his or her name below. (If you don’t know your representative, click here)

Rep. Carol Ammons, D-Champaign
Rep. Jaime Andrade, D-Chicago
Rep. Luis Arroyo, D-Chicago
Rep. Monica Bristow, D-Alton
Rep. Daniel Burke, D-Chicago
Rep. Kelly Burke, D-Oak Lawn
Rep. Jonathan Carroll, D-Buffalo Grove
Rep. Kelly Cassidy, D-Chicago
Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia, D-Aurora
Rep. John Connor, D-Romeoville
Rep. Deb Conroy, D-Villa Park
Rep. Melissa Conyears-Ervin, D-Chicago
Rep. Fred Crespo, D-Streamwood
Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie, D-Chicago
Rep. John D’Amico, D-Chicago
Rep. William Davis, D-East Hazel Crest
Rep. Anthony DeLuca, D-Chicago Heights
Rep. Scott Drury, D-Highwood
Rep. Marcus Evans, D-Chicago
Rep. Sara Feigenholtz, D-Chicago
Rep. Laura Fine, D-Glenview
Rep. Natalie Phelps Finnie, D-Harrisburg
Rep. Mary Flowers, D-Chicago
Rep. La Shawn Ford, D-Chicago
Rep. Robyn Gabel, D-Evanston
Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth, D-Peoria
Rep. LaToya Greenwood, D-East St. Louis
Rep. Will Guzzardi, D-Chicago
Rep. Michael Halpin, D-Rock Island
Rep. Sonya Harper, D-Chicago
Rep. David Harris, R-Arlington Heights
Rep. Gregory Harris, D-Chicago
Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez, D-Chicago
Rep. Jay Hoffman, D-Belleville
Rep. Frances Ann Hurley, D-Chicago
Rep. Thaddeus Jones, D-South Holland
Rep. Stephanie Kifowit, D-Aurora
Rep. Lou Lang, D-Skokie
Rep. Camille Lilly, D-Oak Park
Rep. Michael Madigan, D-Chicago
Rep. Theresa Mah, D-Chicago
Rep. Natalie Manley, D-Joliet
Rep. Robert Martwick, D-Chicago
Rep. Rita Mayfield, D-Waukegan
Rep. Christian Mitchell, D-Chicago
Rep. Anna Moeller, D-Elgin
Rep. Martin Moylan, D-Des Plaines
Rep. Michelle Mussman, D-Schaumburg
Rep. Al Riley, D-Richton Park
Rep. Robert Rita, D-Blue Island
Rep. Sue Scherer, D-Decatur
Rep. Carol Sente, D-Buffalo Grove
Rep. Justin Slaughter, D-Chicago
Rep. Nicholas Smith, D-Chicago
Rep. Cynthia Soto, D-Chicago
Rep. Juliana Stratton, D-Chicago
Rep. Katie Stuart, D-Collinsville
Rep. Andre Thapedi, D-Chicago
Rep. Arthur Turner, D-Chicago
Rep. Celina Villanueva, D-Chicago
Rep. Litesa Wallace, D-Rockford
Rep. Lawrence Walsh, D-Joliet
Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch, D-Westchester
Rep. Ann Williams, D-Chicago
Rep. Kathleen Willis, D-Northlake
Rep. Sam Yingling, D-Round Lake Beach
Rep. Michael Zalewski, D-Riverside

Starting Nov. 13, the General Assembly will return to Springfield for Veto Session. At that time, they can make another attempt to pass the progressive tax.

If your lawmaker’s name does not appear above, he or she has already signed on to the pledge. To thank them, click here.

Want more? Get stories like this delivered straight to your inbox.

Thank you, we'll keep you informed!